These Are The Seven Hills Of Rome (& Their Ruins You Can Visit)

Aventine Hill

Known as Collis Aventinus in Latin, the Aventine Hill offers a serene escape from the hustle and bustle of Rome with its lush gardens and stunning views of the Tiber River.

Caelian Hill

Referred to as Collis Caelius in Latin, the Caelian Hill boasts a rich history, dotted with ancient ruins, charming churches, and picturesque villas.

Capitoline Hill

Known as Mons Capitolinus in Latin, the Capitoline Hill is the most important of the seven hills, home to the iconic Capitoline Museums and the majestic Piazza del Campidoglio designed by Michelangelo.

Esquiline Hill

Referred to as Collis Esquilinus in Latin, the Esquiline Hill is a vibrant neighborhood blending ancient history with modern life, featuring landmarks like the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore and the Baths of Diocletian.

Palatine Hill

Known as Collis or Mons Palatinus in Latin, the Palatine Hill holds the distinction of being the first hill of Rome, steeped in mythological lore and adorned with monumental ruins like the Palace of Domitian and the House of Livia and Augustus.

Quirinal Hill

Referred to as Collis Quirinalis in Latin, the Quirinal Hill is home to the majestic Quirinal Palace, the official residence of the President of the Italian Republic, and offers panoramic views of Rome from its lofty heights.

Viminal Hill

Known as Collis Viminalis in Latin, the Viminal Hill is the smallest of the seven hills but holds historical significance as the location of the Baths of Diocletian, one of the largest public baths in ancient Rome.